Adding value
June 23, 2008 by moneypenny
Filed under Personal Finance
Well, following on the successful blog off where I and many other b5media bloggers from the business channel and entertainment channel blogged for 24 hours straight, it came to me that, one golden rule of blogging, is to add value.
In other words, to give our readers something that they need to manage their money better, some timely advice that’s hard to find. On this note, I thought back to my recent post on the moneybookers scam, that caught people in its sticky trap, real people who unfortunately lost real money. Here are some of the comments received:
michael | |
No, the car was on nola.com. They also use other websites such as autotrader, cars.com and such. IT IS A SCAM, DO NOT FALL FOR IT! I am highly pissed that they took my money and I have no car and it was all fake. I’m trying to take legal action now towards them. They gave me a vin #, make and model and pictures. What you could do is fake like you are going to buy the car and tell me what web page or email they sent you and the names and address and or numbers. So that way, I may be able to catch them. Once again it is not real. Moneybookers is real, but the thing they have isn’t. Unles you set up an actual account yourself on their website, it isn’t real. Please if there is any info you can give, please feel free to share. I am a Marine and I lost $4,900. Stupid me, GOSH! thanks
This same Go***mned thing happened to me a week ago! I agreed to buy a Tenor Saxophone from a guy in Birmingham, UK that left the horn at a moneybookers warehouse in Detroit, MI. long story short, I sent $2500.00 to a Donovan Bratcher (supposed moneybookers.com agent) via Western Union and since then have not been able to contact anyone!! Is there anything I can do? I filed a report with my local police, I filled a report with the FBI and with the Attorney General of my state (IL). Can I do anything else?
Margene | | moneybookers | IP: 97.101.186.189
I had a feeling I was being scammed. Same story… There was a high mile bmw z convertable on auto trader. It was listed at 1190.00. I responded with my name thinking that the car had been mispriced. The seller responded to me with the tone that the sale had been agreed. The car was not nearby as I had thought, but had been sent to a warehouse in another state. The seller was in Scotland and wanted me to send the money to moneybooker so they could complete the transaction…same scam. Thank goodness for this website! I was a cute car…
hey michael i almost just fell for a very similar scam he was asking 4k for a 13k car:
Dear Kevin,
Here you have the VIN# ja3an74k9vy005070 please feel free to run a carfax report to see that everything is OK!
I will try to tell you in few words how the process works through MoneyBookers.
Their primary purpose is to protect buyers and sellers from fraud. MoneyBookers services accept and hold payment from the buyer until the buyer receives and approves the merchandise. Only then do they forward the payment to the seller.
If you are really interested in the purchase please get back to me asap with your full name and shipping address so I can forward them at MoneyBookers in order to open a case and they will guide you through the rest of the process so we can complete this deal successfully and in the best manner !
Sincerely,
Andrew
his email is “andrewwk40_1966@msn.com”
the VIN number checks out but then i googled it and it came up on another site
Jun 20, 11:07 PM — Fake moneybookers scam ?
i guess this scam has been around for a little while. i was dealing with a “woman” from the u.k. who actually emailed me not more than 15 min.s ago to make sure that i had received all the info from moneybookers regarding the car i was supposed to buy. i was talking with the real moneybookers this morning who told me that the trans. # was bogus and the whole thing was a fraud. still didn’t want to believe it until i read this site. glad i did. i have been saving all correspondents with them and dont know what to do with them. i havent contacted her back to let her know that i know. i’d love to catch her for everyones sake while its all still hot. any advice?I was very honoured to receive mails from people telling them how my writing this had saved them from getting scammed. These are just some of those who have been scammed.
So that’s what I plan to cover more of here, helping our digital money worlders negotiate the pitfalls of investing online.
Read this and share it, you may help someone.
Leave a comment, if you want to share something with digital money world readers.
Moneypenny
So that’s what I plan to cover more of here, helping our digital money worlders negotiate the pitfalls of investing online.














Here’s the reply e-mail they sent me:
******FAKE*********SCAM*****BELOW!
Hi,
the bike is in great condition, has been properly maintained, has never been dropped or abused in any way. It has a clear title and the price I`m selling it for is $2950, which is including all shippings charges.
I live in Colorado Springs I`m currently working in the UK (London) and I`ll be staying here for the next approximately 7 months, anyway I`m using MoneyBookers services so I can sell this bike without difficulty. I left it at their warehouse before leaving to the UK. They are supervising the entire process from payment, shipping with a 14-day inspection period included, returns (if needed) and refunding.
If you want to purchase it, let me know and I will explain you how MoneyBookers works and how we can move forward.
I am waiting your email.
Thanks
Jun 9, 9:37 PM — — Fake moneybookers scam ?